

Minutes of Meeting Tourist Development Council St. Johns County, Florida

August 21, 2023 - 1:30 p.m. County Administration Building 500 San Sebastian View St. Augustine, Florida 32084

CALL TO ORDER

Gordon called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Present: Michael Gordon, Chair

Regina Phillips, Vice Chair

Sarah Arnold, BCC Representative

Nancy Sikes-Kline, Mayor, City of St. Augustine Representative Don Samora, Mayor, City of St. Augustine Beach Representative

Michael Wicks, District 4 Troy Blevins, District 5

Absent: Irving Kass, District 2

Staff Present: Tera Meeks, Tourism and Cultural Development Director

Dena Masters, Tourist Development Council Administrative Coordinator

Jalisa Ferguson, Assistant County Attorney

Saundra Hutto, Deputy Clerk

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Gordon led the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL

Masters called the roll. Council members Gordon, Phillips, Arnold, Sikes-Kline, Samora, Wicks, and Blevins were present, with Kass absent.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion by Phillips, seconded by Blevins, carried 7/0, to approve the Agenda, as submitted.

Yea: Phillips, Gordon, Blevins, Arnold, Sikes-Kline, Wicks, Samora

Nay: None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Blevins, seconded by Samora, carried 7/0, to approve the minutes for the June 19, 2023, meetings, as submitted.

Yea: Phillips, Gordon, Blevins, Arnold, Sikes-Kline, Wicks, Samora

Nay: None

Motion by Sikes-Kline, seconded by Samora, carried 7/0, to approve the minutes for the July 17, 2023, meetings, as submitted.

Yea: Phillips, Gordon, Blevins, Arnold, Sikes-Kline, Wicks, Samora

Nay: None

PUBLIC COMMENT

Virgina Whetstone provided public comment.

TOURIST DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS

Meeks provided the details of the recommendations, via PowerPoint. She also suggested that the applicants provide introductions and provided information on the voting process.

Doctor Arthur Field provided a summary of his qualifications.

Heather Harley-Davidson provided a summary of her qualifications.

Bonnie Hayflick provided a summary of her qualifications.

Jeanetta Cebollero provided a summary of her qualifications.

Charles Cox provided a summary of his qualifications.

Benjamin Brandao provided a summary of his qualifications.

Matthew Ohlson provided a summary of his qualifications.

Beth Strautz provided a summary of her qualifications.

Garrett Colton provided a summary of his qualifications.

Discussion ensued on moving forward with filling the vacant seat and on the applicants introducing themselves.

Sikes-Kline nominated Jeanetta Cebollero for the vacant seat, which was seconded by Phillips.

Wicks nominated Charles Cox for the vacant seat, which was seconded by Arnold.

Meeks read a letter of support for Charles Cox that was provided by Kass.

Motion by Sikes-Kline, seconded by Phillips, carried 2/5, via roll call vote, to recommend the Board of County Commissioners to approve Jeanetta Cebollero for the vacant Tourist Development Council seat.

Yea: Phillips, Sikes-Kline

Nay: Blevins, Arnold, Gordon, Wicks, Samora

Motion by Wicks, seconded by Arnold, carried 7/0, via roll call vote, to recommend the Board of County Commissioners to approve Charles Cox for the vacant Tourist Development Council seat.

Yea: Phillips, Gordon, Blevins, Arnold, Sikes-Kline, Wicks, Samora

Nay: None

TAG! CHILDREN'S MUSEUM PRESENTATION

Andrew Murfin, Board of Directors Vice Chair, and Kim MacEwan, Board of Directors Executive Director, provided the details of the museum, via PowerPoint.

The Council Members voiced their support for the museum.

ART, CULTURE AND HERITAGE GRANT ALLOCATIONS

Meeks provided the details of the request, via PowerPoint.

Discussion ensued on the scoring matrix, budget process, and eligibility process, with additional comments provided by Brenda Swann, Associate Director of St. Johns Cultural Council, on the new programs and scoring matrix.

Public comment: There was none.

Motion by Sikes-Kline, seconded by Wicks, carried 7/0, to recommend the Board of County Commissioners to recommend funding of the list as presented and look into the possibility of the full funding of \$661,220 for the grants.

Yea: Phillips, Gordon, Blevins, Arnold, Sikes-Kline, Wicks, Samora

Nay: None

TOURISM DESTINATION MARKETING DISCUSSION

Meeks provided the details of the tourism servicing contracts and establishing a Tourism Destination Marketing Request for Proposal (RFP) working group consisting of five people, via PowerPoint. She also provided further information for the council members to present names of recommendations.

Discussion ensued on the Tourism Destination Marketing RFP working group eligibility requirements, the conflict of the Visitors and Convention Board (VCB) and staff, moving the process along, having a liaison participate from the Tourist Development Council (TDC), and having an individual from the restaurant community. Additional comments were provided from Joanne Spencer, Senior Assistant to the Board of County Commissioners (BCC), on adding the appointment for Charles Cox to the next BCC meeting agenda to allow him to participate in the voting process.

Sikes-Kline recommended the following candidates for the Tourism Destination Marketing RFP working group, Christina Parrish Stone, St. Johns Cultural Council; Kathy Flemming; Melissa Wissel, City of St. Augustine; and Roxanne Horvath, Vice Mayor of the City of St. Augustine.

Blevins recommended the following candidates for the Tourism Destination Marketing RFP working group, Gabe Pellicer, St. Augustine Amphitheater; Dylan Rumrell, Vice Mayor of St. Augustine Beach; Dave Chatterton, Old Town Trolleys; Cyndi Stavely, Colonial Quarter; Todd Hickney, Sawgrass Marriott; Bo and Letty Bozard, Bozard Ford Family; and Charles Cos, San Sebastian Winery.

Arnold recommended the following candidates for the Tourism Destination Marketing RFP working group, Gabe Pellicer, St. Augustine Amphitheater; Phil McDaniel, St. Augustine Distillery; and Irving Kass, St. George Inn and TDC Member.

Samora recommended the following candidates for the Tourism Destination Marketing RFP working group, Dylan Rumrell, Vice Mayor of St. Augustine Beach, and Phil McDaniel.

MONTHLY REPORTS PROVIDED IN PACKETS

Gordon stated that the monthly reports were provided in the agenda packet.

Susan Phillips, St. Johns County Visitors and Convention Bureau (VCB), provided the VCB reports, via PowerPoint.

MEMBER COMMENTS

Sikes-Kline announced that the visitors' numbers were up compared to last year and provided details on the St. Augustine Rider (STAR) services.

NEXT MEETING DATE

Gordon stated that the next meeting was scheduled for September 18, 2023.

ADJOURN

With there being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting adjourned at 3:08 p.m.

	Approved	, 2023	
		OURIST DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL OF ST. JOHNS COUNTY, FLORIDA sy: Michael Gordon, Chair	
	By: Michael Gordon, C		
ATTEST: BRANDON J. PATTY, CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT &	& COMPTROLLER		
By:			