MINUTES OF MEETING INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF ST. JOHNS COUNTY November 14, 2022 3:00 PM

IIDCI 1-

500 San Sabastian View, St. Augustine FL

Members Present: Melissa Churchwell, Geoff Litchney, Chet Frith and Vivian Helwig

Call In: Kevin Kennedy

Members Absent: None

Guests Present: See attached sign-in sheet.

Ms. Churchwell brings the meeting to order at 3 p.m.

Ms. Churchwell asks for roll call. Ms. Churchwell, Mr. Litchney, Mr. Frith and Mr. Helwig are present. Mr.

Kennedy call in.

Ms. Churchwell asks for public comment.

No public comment.

Ms. Churchwell asks for additions and deletions to today's agenda.

None.

Ms. Churchwell moves the meeting to the approval of the minutes from the September 12, 2022 meeting.

Motion Mr. Litchney, second Mr. Frith to approve the minutes of the September 12, 2022 meeting as presented.

Vote unanimous.

Ms. Churchwell moves the meeting to review and approval of the financials.

Ms. Churchwell asks about the branding project funding.

Discussion.

Motion Mr. Litchney, second Mr. Frith to approve the financials as presented.

Vote unanimous.

Ms. Churchwell moves the meeting to New Business.

Election of Officers.

Chair:

Mr. Frith nominates Mr. Kennedy for Chairperson. Mr. Helwig seconds the nomination.

Vice-Chair:

Mr. Helwig nominates Mr. Frith for Vice-Chair. Mr. Litchney seconds the nomination.

Treasurer:

Ms. Churchwell nominates Mr. Litchney for Treasurer. Mr. Helwig seconds the nomination.

Secretary:

Mr. Litchney nominates Mr. Helwig for Secretary. Mr. Frith seconds the nomination.

Assistant Secretary:

Mr. Litchney nominates Ms. Churchwell for Assistant Secretary. Mr. Helwig seconds the nomination.

All nominated accept their nominations. Vote unanimous on all nominations.

Geoffrey Dobson Retirement.

Mr. Dobson shares about his decision to retire. He recommends Mr. McCabe to fill the IDA attorney position due to his experience and work with the IDA.

Mr. McCabe shares that he has worked as the assistant attorney for the IDA for the past 12 years.

Mr. Frith makes a motion to recommend Mr. McCabe as the new IDA attorney to the St. Johns County Board of County Commissioners. Mr. Helwig seconds the motion. Vote unanimous.

Ms. Churchwell moves the meeting to reports.

Members.

Mr. Helwig states that it has been a pleasure working with Mr. Dobson and is appreciative of Mr. Dobson's commitment to the IDA. He also thanks Ms. Churchwell for being Chair the past year. He congratulates Mr. Kennedy on being selected as the new Chair.

Mr. Litchney states that it has been great working with Mr. Dobson. He also thanks the IDA members and the Board of County Commissioners for nominating him to a second term and states that he is appreciative of the opportunity.

Mr. Frith states that he echoes the thank yous mentioned before him.

Mr. Helwig makes a motion to request a plaque for Mr. Dobson. Mr. Litchney seconds the motion. Vote unanimous.

Mr. Kennedy no report.

Ms. Churchwell no report.

Commissioner Whitehurst talks about the speculative warehouse project in Elkton that came before the Board of County Commissioners and says that the County is working with KeHE to find another location in St. Johns County for the company.

Mr. Helwig talks about the industrial feasibility study that was done in the past through the IDA. He states that the IDA can assist with any future studies.

Chamber Update. Mr. Maynard states that the Northeast Florida Regional Airport is in the process of creating a strategic plan. He also states that Northrop Grumman recently signed a new contract with the Navy. He mentions that the next EDC Breakfast will be on Dec. 2.

Ms. Churchwell asks for a motion to adjourn and states the next meeting will be 12/12/22 at 3 p.m.

Motion Mr. Frith, second Mr. Helwig to adjourn the meeting at 3:38 p.m.

Vote unanimous.

IDA

SIGN IN SHEET

IDA BOARD MEMBERS		
1	Melissa Churchwell	
2	Geoff Litchney	
3	Chet Frith	
4	Viv Helwig	
5	Kevin Kennedy (call in)	
6		
7		

IDA MEETING

DATE: 11/14/22

VISITORS / GUESTS		Who do you represent?
1	Commissioner Christian Whitehurst	BCC
2	Scott Maynard	SJC Chamber of Commerce
3	Lex Taylor	SJC County Attorney Office
4	Geoff Dobson	IDA Attorney
5	Mike McCabe (call in)	IDA Attorney
6	David Kiernan	SJC Economic Development
7	Jennifer Zuberer	SJC Economic Development
8		
9		
10		
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		